Master in Communication and Media Research

The Master of Arts in Communication and Media Research in German and English language (some courses are also available in French) addresses students who want to expand their scientific qualifications with deeper knowledge of Communication Studies and applied research skills. According to their own preferences and interests, our students are given the opportunity to specialise in one of three core areas that will also be noted on their diploma:

  1. "Media, Politics, and the Economy"
  2. "Journalism and Organizational Communication"
  3. "Media Use and Effects"

The major (90 ECTS) can be combined with an optional minor (30 ECTS) in another branch, in German, French or English language. A minor (30 ECTS) in Communication and Media Research is offered for Master students with other majors.

  • Learning Outcomes

    The Master programme at the Department of Communication and Media Research (DCM) offers you a solid scientific education. Beyond acquiring knowledge you learn to critically analyse and independently research topical and societally relevant phenomena in media and communication. In small groups, you will acquire competences that are in demand in various occupational areas in the media and communication sector. Our dedicated team ensures diverse courses, excellent supervision and regular feedback.

    Our Master programme offers the freedom and flexibility you need thanks to the variety of courses offered and the possibility to determine your timeschedule yourself. A large offer of minor study programmes at the University of Fribourg enables you to complement your studies of communication according to your own interests

  • Career Openings

    The study programme is aimed at teaching profound scientific knowledge and methods and prepares you for careers in the fields of media management, journalism, politics, administration and NPOs, science, consulting in communication, public relations and communication management, marketing, market research and media planning. The possibility of the recognition of an internship offers opportunities to make contacts at an early stage with the media and communication practice.

  • Bilingual and Trilingual Studies

    The courses of the Master programme in Communication and Media Research are in German and English language. Minor branches and optional courses may be attended in German, French and English language.

    In the University of Fribourg's Master programmes, you can obtain bilingual or trilingual diplomas. If  the proportion of courses in the second language (German or English or French) is at least 40%, it will be officially mentioned in your diploma that your study at University of Fribourg was bilingual. For a trilingual diploma, you have to obtain at least 18 ECTS each in German, French and English courses (see art. 15 of the Faculty's organizational rule).

Master Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung

Das Masterprogramm "Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung" ermöglicht eine differenzierte, problemorientierte und international vergleichende Auseinandersetzung mit dem Zusammenspiel von Medien, Gesellschaft, Organisation und Individuum. Entsprechend Ihrer persönlichen Interessen können Sie sich in einem von drei Schwerpunkten zu spezialisieren, der auch auf Ihrem Diplom vermerkt wird:

  1. "Media, Politics and the Economy"
  2. "Journalism and Organizational Communication"
  3. "Media Use and Effects"

Unterrichtssprachen sind Deutsch und Englisch, einzelne Kurse werden aber auch auf Französisch angeboten.

"Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung" kann im Master als Hauptfach zu 90 ECTS und als Nebenfach zu 30 ECTS studiert werden. Als Hauptfach lässt es sich vielseitig mit Nebenfächern (30 ECTS) in deutscher, französischer oder englischer Sprache kombinieren.

  • Ziele der Ausbildung

    Mit dem Masterstudium am Departement für Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung DCM bieten wir Ihnen eine fundierte wissenschaftliche Ausbildung. Über reines Fachwissen hinaus lernen Sie, aktuelle und gesellschaftlich relevante Medienphänomene kritisch zu analysieren und selbstständig zu erforschen. Somit erwerben Sie bei uns in kleinen Gruppen Wissen und Kompetenzen, die in zahlreichen Berufsfeldern im Medien- und Kommunikationssektor gefragt sind. Unser engagiertes Team garantiert vielseitige Lehrveranstaltungen, eine hervorragende Betreuung und regelmässiges Feedback.

    Unser Master bietet Ihnen auch die Freiheit und Flexibilität, die Sie brauchen: Durch den Verzicht auf fixe Stundenpläne haben Sie zahlreiche Wahlmöglichkeiten und können die meisten Veranstaltungen in einer selbst festgelegten Reihenfolge belegen. Ein vielfältiges Angebot an Nebenfächern erlaubt Ihnen zudem, Ihr Studium der Kommunikationswissenschaft gemäss Ihren eigenen Interessen sinnvoll zu ergänzen und sich optimal weiterzuqualifizieren.

  • Berufsmöglichkeiten

    Das Studienangebot zielt auf die Vermittlung wissenschaftlich fundierter Kenntnisse und Methoden ab und bereitet Sie vor auf Karrieren z. B. in Medienmanagement, Journalismus, Politik, Verwaltung und NGOs, Wissenschaft, Kommunikationsberatung, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit und Kommunikationsmanagement, Marketing, Marktforschung oder Mediaplanung. Durch anrechenbare Praktika besteht die Möglichkeit, frühzeitig Kontakte zur Medien- und Kommunikationspraxis zu knüpfen.

  • Mehrsprachige Studienabschlüsse

    Der Master in Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung besteht aus deutsch- und englischsprachigen Lehrveranstaltungen. Nebenfächer und Wahlveranstaltungen können in Deutsch, Französisch oder Englisch belegt werden.

    An der Universität Freiburg können Sie einen zwei- oder dreisprachigen Abschluss erwerben. Sofern mindestens 40% der ECTS-Punkte in Französisch oder Englisch erworben werden, wird das zweisprachige Studium auf dem Diplom vermerkt. Sofern mindestens 18 ECTS-Punkte in einer dritten Sprache (Französisch oder Englisch) erworben werden, wird das dreisprachige Studium auf dem Diplom vermerkt.