Open Data

REPOSITORIES AND LONG TERM DATA PRESERVATION

 

Data repositories provide long-term online access to research data. 

The SNSF expects its funded researchers to put at least all data underlying a publication on an open repository as soon as the publication is available. Only repositories that are following the FAIR data principles are accepted (FAIR data must be Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable). The SNSF provides a table outlining the requirements for FAIR repositories.

 

UNIFR does not have its own institutional data repository. Researchers wishing to provide permanent access to their data have two possibilities:

  1. A big variety of appropriate disciplinary repositories are available, e.g. FORSbase for the Socials Sciences, DaSCH for the Humanities and others (see global registry of research data repositories re3data.org ).
  2. Alternatively, general repositories like figshare or ZENODO can be used. The SNSF provides some more examples for general data repositories that fulfil their requirements.

 

Please be aware that it is the responsibility of the researcher to make sure that the repository complies with the SNSF requirements (non-commercial, following the FAIR Data Principles).

 

The SNSF allows applicants to request funds for data preparation, upload and validation. Data download is not covered. The SNSF may allocate up to CHF 10,000 for these activities.

 

By putting your data on an open repository, you share it with the public. However, you can restrict the level of access and of usage by choosing different types of licences. Therefore, when selecting a repository, you need to consider the restrictions that you wish to put on your data. The choice of the repository might impose a specific licence e.g. Creative Commons. In case of doubt regarding licence issues or intellectual property please contact UNIFR Tech Transfer.

Open Data

BANQUES DE DONNÉES ET CONSERVATION DE LONGUE DURÉE

Les banques de données permettent un accès à long terme et en ligne à des données de recherche.

 

L’exigence du FNS en ce qui concerne les recherches qu’il soutient financièrement est que toutes les données sous-jacentes à des publications soient partagées dans une banque de données libre d’accès aussitôt que la publication sera disponible. Seuls les banques de données qui suivent les principes FAIR sont acceptées (les données FAIR doivent être Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable). Le FNS fournit un tableau décrivant les exigences relatives aux banques de données FAIR.

 

L'UNIFR ne dispose pas d’une banque de données institutionnelle. Les chercheurs(euses) qui souhaitent fournir un accès permanent à leurs données ont deux possibilités:

 

  1. Un grand nombre de banques de données reconnues dans leur discipline sont disponibles, p. ex. FORSbase pour les sciences sociales, DaSCH for the sciences humaines et autres (voir le registre mondial des banques de données de recherche re3data.org).
  2. Ou alors des banques de données générales comme figshare ou ZENODO peuvent être utilisées. Le FNS fournit des exemples de banques de données générales qui satisfont aux exigences.

 

Notez qu'il est de la responsabilité des chercheurs de s'assurer que la banque de données est conforme aux exigences du FNS (non commercial, satisfaisant aux principes FAIR).

 

Le FNS permet aussi aux requérants de demander des fonds pour la préparation des données, la mise en ligne et la validation. Le téléchargement n’est pas pris en compte. Le FNS peut octroyer jusqu’à CHF 10’000 pour ces activités.

 

En plaçant vos données sur une banque de donnée libre d’accès, vous les partagez avec le public. Toutefois, vous pouvez limiter le niveau d'accès et d'utilisation en choisissant différents types de licences. Par conséquent, lors de la sélection d’une banque de données, vous devez tenir compte des restrictions que vous souhaitez mettre sur vos données. Le choix d’une banque de données peut imposer une licence spécifique, comme p.ex. Creative Commons. En cas de doute concernant des licences ou des questions de propriété intellectuelle, veuillez contacter l'UNIFR Tech Transfer.