Our Profile

The Departement of Communication and Media Research DCM at University of Fribourg aims at teaching and research in the field of mass communication in Switzerland and internationally.

With our Bachelor and Master programmes, we offer an attractive academic education for students who want to start a career in the field of communication and media. The programmes aim at describing and explaining media and communication in modern societies. Furthermore, they allow insights into the media business.

  

  • Our Subject Area

    Communication and Media Research is a subject in the field of social sciences at whose core lays the conveyance of structural knowledge and awareness of problems regarding the public social communication. Central topics are the general framework, systems, processes, contents and effects of mass communication. Research in the field of media sheds light among other things on the media system and media-consumption habits. The findings are availed by decision makers of media policy, the public relations sector, the advertising industry and media representatives. 

    Communication and Media Research are comprised of numerous subareas: Media Law, History of Media and Communication, Study of the Communicator, Study of the Recipient, Study of Audience and Media Effects, Political Communication, Media Economics, Organisational Communication and PR, Media Ecology, Media Technology, Semiotics, Media Ethics, Media Pedagogy. Furthermore the following subjects are part of the course of studies: Introduction to Socio-Scientific Fundamentals, Empirical Research Methods and similar socio-scientific disciplines (Sociology, Political Science and Social Psychology).

  • Focus of Teaching and Research Area

    The Department of Communication and Media Research comprises of six teaching and research areas that are each supervised by a professor. The following core topics are represented:

     

    • Professorship in Business Communication (Prof. Dr. Laura Illia): Media analysis, media economics, communication strategies and crisis communication, internet and organizational communication.
      Link

     

    • Professorship in Empirical Communication Research (Prof. Dr. Andreas Fahr): Study of audience and media effects, media psychology.
      Link

     

    • Professorship in General Communication Science (Prof. Dr. Regula Hänggli): Research in political communication, production of news content, public debates, opinion formation, direct democracy, and digitalization as  challenge for established democracy and society.
      Link

     

    • Professorship in Media Systems and Media Structures (Prof. Dr. Manuel Puppis): International comparison of media systems, media in Switzerland, media organizations, media policy and media regulation.
      Link

     

    • Professorship in Organizational Communication and Communication Management (Prof. Dr. Diana Ingenhoff): A special focus lays on the areas of reputation and issues management, corporate citizenship, CSR and international corporate communications.
      Link

     

    • Professorship in Systematic Communication Science and Communication History (Prof. Dr. Philomen Schönhagen): Theory of mass communication and journalism, history and evolution of social communication and their media, history of journalism, quality in journalism, qualitative methods in communication studies.
      Link

     

  • Our Mission Statement

    The DCM...

    • accounts for theory-led, systematic-empirical and scientific research of the various phenomena, processes and structures of media-mediated public communication.
    • focuses its research on the following core areas of public and media-mediated communication: media systems, media policy, media organizations and digital media, journalism and political communication, organizational communication as well as media use and media effects.
    • iis convinced of the particular importance of solid knowledge of qualitative and quantitative methods throughout the research process. The application and teaching of those methods ensures research and education at a high academic level.
    • practices research-based teaching and learning. This systematic linking of research and teaching is of major strategic importance for the DCM.
    • offers an academic-scientific education that deals with the research of media and communication in society. It is convinced that an active and intensive contact with media practice is particularly useful for academic research as well as for the education of students. Therefore, courses of nationally and internationally renowned experts from media practice are accompanying the teaching at the DCM. Applied research projects, guest lectures and other forms of cooperation successfully combine theory and practice.

    The students at the DCM...

    • gain a comprehensive understanding of the processes, structures, roles, effects and power in and of social communication in their full-time studies. They acquire analytical and practical knowledge about communication processes, actors, media content, publics as well as the individual, organizational and social consequences of interactions between humans and media. They gain profound knowledge about the importance of media for and their influence on society.
    • learn the discipline-specific relevant knowledge and skills to participate actively and independently in research processes, plan and carry out research projects and present their results.
    • may study in two or three languages (German, French, English).
  • Website "50 Years of DCM"

    In 2016, the Department of Communication and Media Research celebrated 50 years of teaching and research in the fields of media, communication and journalism at University of Fribourg. We organized an official jubilee on 7th April 2016 with speeches, discussion panels and an exhibition about the Department's history.  The event website offers an insight into our Department's history (only in German and French) and features pictures from the jubilee:
    Website "50 Years of DCM"

Unser Profil

Das Departement für Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung DCM der Universität Freiburg beschäftigt sich mit der Erforschung und Reflexion der vielfältigen Phänomene, Prozesse und Strukturen medienvermittelter öffentlicher Kommunikation in der Schweiz sowie im internationalen Vergleich.

Studierenden, die sich für Berufe im Medien- und Kommunikationssektor interessieren, bieten wir in attraktiven Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen eine akademisch-wissenschaftliche Ausbildung, die sich mit der Erforschung von Medien und Kommunikation in der Gesellschaft beschäftigt. Ergänzend erlauben unsere Studiengänge Einblicke in die Medienpraxis.

 

  • Das Fach Kommunikationswissenschaft

    Kommunikationswissenschaft ist ein sozialwissenschaftliches Fach, in dessen Zentrum die medienvermittelte öffentliche Kommunikation steht. Zentraler Gegenstand sind die Rahmenbedingungen, Akteure, Inhalte und Wirkungen der Massenkommunikation. Die Kommunikationswissenschaft beleuchtet die Bedeutung von Medien und Kommunikation für Gesellschaft, Organisationen und Individuen. Unsere Forschung findet Beachtung bei Entscheidungsträgern in Medienpolitik und Medienunternehmen, bei Medienschaffenden, in der Kommunikationsbranche und der Verwaltung.


    Die Kommunikationswissenschaft umfasst zahlreiche Teilgebiete:

    • Mediengeschichte, Mediensysteme, Medienpolitik, Medienökonomie, Medienrecht und Medienethik
    • Journalismus, politische Kommunikation, Organisationskommunikation, PR und Medieninhalte
    • Mediennutzung, Medienrezeption, Medienwirkung, Medienpsychologie und Medienpädagogik

     

    Unsere Absolventinnen und Absolventen sind unter anderem tätig in Medienmanagement, Mediaplanung, Journalismus, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit, Kommunikationsmanagement, Marketing, Marktforschung, Wissenschaft, Verwaltung, Politik und Kommunikationsberatung.

  • Unsere Lehr- und Forschungsbereiche

    Das Departement für Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung umfasst sechs Lehr- und Forschungsbereiche, die jeweils von einer Professorin oder einem Professor geleitet werden. Die folgenden Kernthemen sind vertreten:

     

    • Professur für allgemeine Kommunikationswissenschaft (Prof. Dr. Regula Hänggli): Politische Kommunikation, Produktion der politischen Berichterstattung, öffentliche Debatten, Meinungsbildung, direkte Demokratie und Digitalisierung als Herausforderung für Demokratie und Gesellschaft.
      Link

     

    • Professur für Business Communication (Prof. Dr. Laura Illia): Medienanalysen, Medienökonomie, Kommunikationsstrategien und Krisenkommunikation, Internet und Organisationskommunikation.
      Link

     

    • Professur für empirische Kommunikationsforschung (Prof. Dr. Andreas Fahr): Mediennutzungs-, Medienrezeptions- und Medienwirkungsforschung, Medienpsychologie.
      Link

      

    • Professur für Mediensysteme und Medienstrukturen (Prof. Dr. Manuel Puppis): Mediensysteme im internationalen Vergleich, Schweizer Mediensystem, Medienorganisationen, Medienpolitik und Medienregulierung, Medienökonomie.
      Link

     

    • Professur für Organisationskommunikation und Kommunikationsmanagement (Prof. Dr. Diana Ingenhoff): Reputations- und Issues Management, Corporate Citizenship, CSR und internationale Unternehmenskommunikation.
      Link

     

    • Professur für systematische und historische Kommunikationswissenschaft  (Prof. Dr. Philomen Schönhagen): Systematische Kommunikations- und Mediengeschichte, Massenkommunikationstheorie und Theoriegeschichte, Journalismustheorie, ?geschichte und ?forschung, Medien und gesellschaftliche Integration, Qualitative Methoden in der Kommunikationswissenschaft, Medien und Geschlecht.
      Link

     

  • Unser Selbstverständnis

    Das DCM...

    • steht für die theoriegeleitete, systematisch-empirische Erforschung und wissenschaftliche Reflexion der vielfältigen Phänomene, Prozesse und Strukturen medienvermittelter öffentlicher Kommunikation.
    • konzentriert sich in seiner Forschung auf folgende Kernbereiche öffentlicher und medien-vermittelter Kommunikation: Mediensysteme, Medienpolitik, Medienorganisationen und digitale Medien, Journalismus und politische Kommunikation, Wirtschafts- und Organisationskommunikation sowie Mediennutzung und Medienwirkungen.
    • ist überzeugt von der besonderen Bedeutung solider Kenntnis qualitativer und quantitativer sozialwissenschaftlicher Methoden im Forschungsprozess. Die Anwendung und Lehre dieser Methoden gewährleistet Forschung und Ausbildung auf hohem akademischem Niveau.
    • praktiziert forschendes Lehren und Lernen. Diese systematische Verknüpfung von Forschung und Lehre ist für das DCM von strategischer Bedeutung.
    • bietet eine akademisch-wissenschaftliche Ausbildung, die sich mit der Erforschung von Medien und Kommunikation in der Gesellschaft beschäftigt. Es ist überzeugt, dass ein aktiver und intensiver Kontakt zur Medienpraxis sowohl für die akademische Forschung als auch für die Ausbildung von Studierenden von besonderem Nutzen ist. Daher flankieren Kurse national und international angesehener Expertinnen und Experten aus der Medienpraxis die Lehre am DCM. Angewandte Forschungsprojekte, Gastvorträge und andere Kooperationsformen verknüpfen fruchtbar Theorie und Praxis.

    Die Studierenden am DCM...

    • gewinnen in ihrem Vollzeitstudium umfangreiches Verständnis der Prozesse, Strukturen, Rollen, Wirkungen und Macht gesellschaftlicher Kommunikation. Sie erarbeiten analytisches und praktisches Wissen über Kommunikationsprozesse, Akteure, Medieninhalte, Publika sowie die individuellen, organisationalen und gesellschaftlichen Konsequenzen der Interaktionen zwischen Menschen und Medien. Sie gewinnen damit fundiertes Wissen über die Bedeutung von Medien für und ihren Einfluss auf die Gesellschaft.
    • lernen die disziplinspezifisch relevanten Kenntnisse und Fähigkeiten, um sich aktiv und selbständig an Forschungsprozessen zu beteiligen, Forschungsprojekte zu planen, durchzuführen und deren Ergebnisse zu präsentieren.
    • können zwei- oder dreisprachig studieren (Deutsch, Französisch, Englisch).
  • Website zum 50-Jahre-Jubiläum des Departements

    2016 feierte das Departement für Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung der Universität Freiburg 50 Jahre Journalistik, Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung in Freiburg/Fribourg. Wir haben das Jubiläum mit einem offiziellen Anlass am 7. April 2016 mit Fachvorträgen, einer Podiumsveranstaltung und einer Ausstellung zur Departementsgeschichte gefeiert. Die Website zum Anlass mit Beiträgen zur Departmentsgeschichte sowie Informationen zu und Fotos vom Anlass ist über den folgenden Link abrufbar:
    Website "50 Jahre DCM"