Professorship in Media Systems and Media Structures

At the chair for «Media Systems and Media Structures», Prof. Dr. Manuel Puppis and his team focus on the Swiss media system and comparative media systems research, media policy, media regulation and media governance, media organizations and journalism as well as media economics and critical political economy.

We are especially interested in how digitization, commercialization and globalization change the role of media in democratic societies and in analyzing options for media policy to maintain a vital media system. What should public service media do in the digital age? How can media organizations survive? And do we need a governance of platforms and algorithms?

  • Research

    The researchers at the chair for "Media Systems and Media Structures" actively contribute to the DCM’s research areas "Media Structures and Media Policy" as well as "Journalism Studies". For instance, during the last years we performed research projects on media and digitization, public service media in a comparative perspective or good practice in youth media protection.

    Selected book publications

  • Studies and Theses

    Media systems and media structures are an integral part of the DCM’s Bachelor and Master programs. By discussing theoretical foundations and specific examples our students deal with media policy, media economics, media organizations and media systems. In our courses we put an emphasis on didactics and support our students’ learning success with learning objectives as well as interactive elements like exercises and group discussions.

    We also gladly supervise bachelor and master theses in the research field of media systems and media structures.

    List of theses (in German)

  • Transfer

    We are committed to make our research available to the public, the media and politicians. We carry out this remit by regular press and broadcasting appearances, the publication of newspaper articles and policy briefs, the organization of public events and the development of ideas for future media policy in Switzerland and beyond.

    Selected media appearances and public performances (in German)

  • Academic Service

    Our team is also active in the self-organization of the scientific community.

    Academic service (in German)

Manuel Puppis

Professeur-e ordinaire

Office PER 21 - F328
+41 26 300 8425

See profile

Etienne Bürdel

Assistant-e diplômé-e / Assistant-e source tierce

Office PER 21 - F310
+41 26 300 8261

See profile

Stefano Pedrazzi

Assistant-e diplômé-e / Assistant-e source tierce

Office PER 21 - F304
+41 26 300 8423

See profile

Professur für Mediensysteme und Medienstrukturen

Am Lehrstuhl für «Mediensysteme und Medienstrukturen» beschäftigen sich Prof. Dr. Manuel Puppis und sein Team in Forschung und Lehre mit dem Schweizer Mediensystem und Mediensystemen im internationalen Vergleich, Medienpolitik, Medienregulierung und Media Governance, Medienorganisationen und Journalismus sowie Medienökonomie und Kritischer Politischer Ökonomie.

Dabei interessiert insbesondere, wie Digitalisierung, Kommerzialisierung und Globalisierung die Rolle der Medien in der demokratischen Gesellschaft verändern und welche medienpolitischen Optionen für die Aufrechterhaltung eines leistungsfähigen Mediensystems bestehen. Was bedeutet Service public im digitalen Zeitalter? Wie können Medienorganisationen sich künftig finanzieren? Und braucht es eine Governance von Plattformen und Algorithmen?

  • Forschung

    Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl tragen mit diversen Forschungsprojekten aktiv zu den Forschungsbereichen "Medienstrukturen und Medienpolitik" sowie "Journalismusforschung" des DCM bei. So wurden in den letzten Jahren beispielsweise Projekte zu Medien und Meinungsmacht, Service public im internationalen Vergleich oder zu Good Practice im Jugendmedienschutz durchgeführt.

    Ausgewählte Buchpublikationen

  • Lehre

    Mediensysteme und Medienstrukturen sind zentraler Bestandteil des Bachelor- und Master-Studiums am DCM. Durch die Vermittlung von Grundlagenwissen und anhand konkreter Beispiele setzen sich die Studierenden mit Medienpolitik, Medienökonomie, Medienorganisationen und Mediensystemen auseinander. Dabei ist uns eine angemessene didaktische Umsetzung wichtig. Mit Lernzielen und interaktiven Elementen wie Übungen und Diskussionen unterstützen wir die Studierenden bei der Wissensaneignung aktiv.

    Bachelor- und Masterarbeiten im Bereich Mediensysteme und Medienstrukturen sind willkommen. Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Themenvorschläge und Grobkonzepte.

    Abschlussarbeiten im Bereich "Mediensysteme und Medienstrukturen"

  • Transfer

    Uns ist es ein Anliegen, Forschungsergebnisse der Gesellschaft insgesamt - der interessierten Öffentlichkeit, den Medien sowie Politikerinnen und Politikern - zur Verfügung zu stellen. Denn Wissenschaft hat eine Bringschuld gegenüber der Öffentlichkeit. Diese nehmen wir wahr durch die Publikation von Artikeln in Zeitungen, die Organisation öffentlicher Veranstaltungen oder auch die Entwicklung von Ideen für die Weiterentwicklung der Medienregulierung in der Schweiz.

    Ausgewählte Medienauftritte und öffentliche Auftritte

  • Akademische Dienstleistungen

    Damit der Wissenschaftsbetrieb funktioniert, braucht es auch ein Engagement im Rahmen der akademischen Selbstverwaltung. Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl übernehmen deshalb auch zahlreiche Aufgaben und Ämter.

    Ausgewählte akademische Aufgaben und Ämter

Manuel Puppis

Ordentliche-r Professor-in

Büro PER 21 - F328
+41 26 300 8425

Zum Profil

Etienne Bürdel

Diplomassistent-in / Assistent-in Drittmittel

Büro PER 21 - F310
+41 26 300 8261

Zum Profil

Stefano Pedrazzi

Diplomassistent-in / Assistent-in Drittmittel

Büro PER 21 - F304
+41 26 300 8423

Zum Profil