Professorship in Organizational Communication and Communication Management

The research group "Organizational Communication and Strategic Communication Management", headed by Prof. Dr. Diana Ingenhoff, focuses on international public relations research, business communication, corporate communication and public diplomacy.

Inspired by social theories and interdisciplinary approaches, we analyze strategic communication by, in and about (political, governmental, non-profit and for-profit) organizations and the consequences of recent dynamic developments like the digitalization and globalization of our media society.

  • Research Projects

    In our research projects we focus on the key constructs of reputation, image, trust and the responsibility of organizations and states.  We tackle research questions like:

    • How are country images formed and perceived in various cultures?
    • How can we measure country image and corporate image and their “value drivers”? What transfer effects may occur between the two entities?
    • How do corporations take social and political responsibility, and how do they communicate and advocate them?
    • How does digitalization and social media impact organizational communication?
    • How is media quality perceived in Switzerland? What consequences does a decrease in media quality have on (media) corporations, the public sphere and democracy?

    Secondary to our focus on "Organizational Communication", our research team also actively contributes to the DCM research areas of "Political Communication", "New Media and new Forms of Communication", as well as "Journalism Studies".

    In our empirical research we use multi-method designs, allowing us to generate in-depth insights into new and complex communication phenomena. In particular, we apply integrated media content analysis and survey design studies as well as experimental designs and network analysis.

    Together with our research partners, from corporations to state institutions, we aim to generate insights of great value to both academia and practitioners.

  • Teaching

    Our lectures and seminars are core elements within the DCM’s Bachelor’s and Master’s programs. We offer classes on recent social developments and their consequences for business communication, and teach new insights from our ongoing research projects in the German Master in Communication and Media Research, especially within the focus on "Journalism and Organizational Communication", as well as in the English part of the Master in Business Communication. In topics like business communication and strategic communication management, international crisis communication or public diplomacy and nation branding, the students explore the basic approaches and apply their knowledge through case studies and simulation exercises.

    We look forward to your proposals of Bachelor’s or Master’s thesis topics. Also, we would be happy to inspire you by discussing our current research ideas with you.

Diana Ingenhoff

Professeur-e ordinaire

Office PER 21 - F332
+41 26 300 8398

See profile

Giada Kajal Calamai

Assistant-e diplômé-e / Assistant-e source tierce

Office PER 21 - F321
+41 26 300 8296

See profile

Jérôme Chariatte

Assistant-e diplômé-e / Assistant-e source tierce

Office PER 21 - F321
+41 26 300 8314

See profile

Dominique Richner

Assistant-e diplômé-e / Assistant-e source tierce


See profile

Professur für Organisationskommunikation und Kommunikationsmanagement

Der Forschungsbereich "Organisationskommunikation und Strategisches Kommunikationsmanagement" von Prof. Dr. Diana Ingenhoff befasst sich mit Themen der internationalen PR-Forschung, Unternehmenskommunikation und Public Diplomacy.

Auf der Grundlage von Sozialtheorien und interdisziplinären Ansätzen analysieren wir die strategische Kommunikation von, in und über (politische, staatliche, non-profit und profit-) Organisationen und die Konsequenzen aktueller, dynamischer Entwicklungen wie der Digitalisierung und Globalisierung der Mediengesellschaft.

  • Forschungsprojekte

    Die Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter am Lehrstuhl widmen sich in ihrer Forschung den zentralen Zielkonstrukten Reputation, Image, Vertrauen, Legitimität und Verantwortung von Organisationen und Ländern. Sie gehen z.B. folgenden Fragen nach:

    • Wie bilden sich Länderimages, und wie werden sie in verschiedenen Kulturen wahrgenommen?
    • Wie lassen sich Länderimages und Unternehmensreputation und ihre jeweiligen «Werttreiber» messen? Welche Transfer-Effekte gibt es zwischen beiden Entitäten?
    • Wie übernehmen Unternehmen soziale und politische Verantwortung, und wie kommunizieren sie diese?
    • Wie wirken sich Digitalisierung und soziale Medien auf die Organisationskommunikation aus?
    • Wie wird die Medienqualität in der Schweiz wahrgenommen? Welche Konsequenzen hat eine abnehmende Medienqualität auf (Medien-) Organisationen, die Öffentlichkeit und die Demokratie?

    Neben unserem Hauptbereich "Organisationskommunikation" tragen sie damit auch aktiv zu den DCM Forschungsbereichen "Politische Kommunikation", "Neue Medien und neue Kommunikationsformen" sowie "Journalismusforschung" bei.

    Dabei kommen Mehrmethodendesigns zur Anwendung, die es erlauben, das Erkenntnisinteresse neuer und komplexer Kommunikationsphänomene differenziert und detailliert zu ergründen. Beispiele hierfür sind die Verknüpfung von Medieninhaltsanalysen mit Zielgruppen- oder Expertenbefragungen sowie experimentelle Forschungsdesigns und Netzwerkanalyse.

    Durch die enge Zusammenarbeit mit unseren Forschungspartnern aus der Unternehmenspraxis und staatlichen Stellen möchten wir wertvolle Erkenntnisse gewinnen, die sowohl von der Wissenschaft als auch der Praxis ausgezeichnet werden.

  • Lehre

    Unsere Lehrveranstaltungen sind zentrale Elemente innerhalb der BA- und MA-Ausbildung am DCM. Wir bieten im deutschsprachigen Master Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung insbesondere innerhalb des Schwerpunkts "Journalismus und Organisationskommunikation" und im englischsprachigem Programm des Master in Business Communication Lehrveranstaltungen zu aktuellen gesellschaftlichen Entwicklungen und ihre Auswirkungen auf die Unternehmenskommunikation, sowie Erkenntnissen aus unseren laufenden Forschungsprojekten an und zeigen gleichzeitig die Praxisrelevanz der Forschung auf. In Themen wie Unternehmenskommunikation und Strategisches Kommunikationsmanagement, Internationale Krisenkommunikation oder Public Diplomacy und Länderkommunikation erforschen die Studierenden die zentralen Grundlagen, und erproben diese in Fallstudien und Simulationsübungen.

    Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Themenvorschläge zu einer Bachelor- oder Masterarbeit, oder diskutieren mit Ihnen unsere Ideen in unserem Forschungsbereich.

Diana Ingenhoff

Ordentliche-r Professor-in

Büro PER 21 - F332
+41 26 300 8398

Zum Profil

Giada Calamai

Diplomassistent-in / Assistent-in Drittmittel

Büro PER 21 - F321
+41 26 300 8296

Zum Profil

Jérôme Chariatte

Diplomassistent-in / Assistent-in Drittmittel

Büro PER 21 - F321
+41 26 300 8314

Zum Profil

Dominique Richner

Diplomassistent-in / Assistent-in Drittmittel


Zum Profil