Professorship in Systematic Communication Science and Communication History

Since 2002, Philomen Schönhagen is professor of systematic and historical communication science at the Department of Communication and Media Research (DCM) at the University of Fribourg. Her research covers communication and media history, history of communication theory and communication studies, theory of mass and online communication, as well as qualitative methods of communication and media research.

Together with her team she focuses on questions relating to journalism and (early) press history, the role of media and journalism for social integration, the representation of different groups (e.g. gender) in media coverage as well as on questions concerning journalistic quality and journalistic autonomy.

Learn more

  • Research Projects

    Prof. Dr. Philomen Schönhagen and her team contribute with diverse research projects to the research areas of Historical Communication ResearchJournalism StudiesPolitical Communication, and Media and Integration. In the last years, they conducted, for example, projects on the co-evolution of PR and Journalism, on working conditions and freedom of reporting of Swiss journalists, as well as on gender and media in the run-up to Swiss elections.

  • Teaching

    In teaching, the team in the Bachelor's and Master's programmes is dedicated on the one hand to teaching basic knowledge. In particular, this comprises communication and media history, theoretical approaches to social communication and its development, and qualitative methods. On the other hand, the focus is on the role of media and journalism for social integration. Hence, we offer seminars dealing e.g. with the representation of gender and migrants or with the impartiality of journalistic coverage. We are keen to provide appropriate didactic tools and a good guidance of our students.

Philomen Schönhagen

Professeur-e ordinaire

Office PER 21 - F333
+41 26 300 8394

See profile

Antonia Baumgartner

Assistant-e diplômé-e / Assistant-e source tierce

Office PER 21 - F324
+41 26 300 8373

See profile

Gwendolin Gurr

Assistant-e diplômé-e / Assistant-e source tierce, Doctorant-e FNS

Office PER 21 - E340
+41 26 300 7763

See profile

Tobias Rohrbach

Assistant-e diplômé-e / Assistant-e source tierce

Office PER 21 - F324
+41 26 300 8369

See profile

External PhD Students

Mike Meissner

External PhD student
Former collaborator

 E-mail

Dhiraj Sabharwal

External PhD student
Former collaborator

 E-mail

Professur für systematische und historische Kommunikationswissenschaft

Philomen Schönhagen ist seit 2002 Professorin für systematische und historische Kommunikationswissenschaft am Departement für Kommunikationswissenschaft und Medienforschung (DCM) der Universität Freiburg/Fribourg. Zu Ihren Forschungsgebieten gehören Kommunikations- und Mediengeschichte, Theorie- und Fachgeschichte, Theorie der Massen- und Onlinekommunikation sowie qualitative Methoden in der Kommunikationswissenschaft.

Inhaltlich beschäftigt sie sich zusammen mit ihrem Team vor allem mit Fragen der Journalismus- und (frühen) Pressegeschichte, der Rolle von Medien und Journalismus für die gesellschaftliche Integration, der Repräsentation verschiedener Gruppen (z. B. der Geschlechter) in der massenmedialen Berichterstattung sowie mit journalistischer Qualität und Autonomie.

Mehr Info

  • Forschungsprojekte

    Die Mitarbeiter/innen am Lehrstuhl tragen mit diversen Forschungsprojekten zu den Forschungsbereichen Historische KommunikationsforschungJournalismusforschungPolitische Kommunikation sowie Medien und Integration des DCM bei. So wurden in den letzten Jahren beispielsweise Projekte zur Ko-Evolution von PR und Journalismus, Arbeitsbedingungen und Berichterstattungsfreiheit von Schweizer Journalist/innen, sowie zu Gender und Medien im Vorfeld der eidgenössischen Wahlen durchgeführt.

  • Lehre

    In der Lehre widmet sich das Team im Bachelor- und Masterstudium zum einen der Vermittlung von Grundlagenwissen, insbesondere von Kommunikations- und Mediengeschichte, theoretischen Ansätzen zu gesellschaftlicher Kommunikation und ihrer Entwicklung, sowie qualitativen Methoden. Zum anderen steht die Beschäftigung mit der Rolle von Medien und Journalismus für die gesellschaftliche Integration im Zentrum. Dazu werden Seminare angeboten, die sich beispielsweise mit der medialen Darstellung von Geschlecht und von Migrant/innen beschäftigen oder auch die Unparteilichkeit journalistischer Berichterstattung in den Blick nehmen. Dabei sind uns eine angemessene didaktische Umsetzung und Betreuung der Studierenden wichtig. 

Philomen Schönhagen

Ordentliche-r Professor-in

Büro PER 21 - F333
+41 26 300 8394

Zum Profil

Antonia Baumgartner

Diplomassistent-in / Assistent-in Drittmittel


Zum Profil

Gwendolin Gurr

Diplomassistent-in / Assistent-in Drittmittel, Doktorand-in SNF

Büro PER 21 - E340
+41 26 300 7763

Zum Profil

Tobias Rohrbach

Diplomassistent-in / Assistent-in Drittmittel

Büro PER 21 - F324
+41 26 300 8369

Zum Profil

Externe Doktorierende

Mike Meissner

Externer Doktorand
Ehemaliger Mitarbeiter

 E-Mail

Dhiraj Sabharwal

Externer Doktorand
Ehemaliger Mitarbeiter

 E-Mail