M.Sc. Environmental Sciences and Humanities

Anthropogenic climate change, natural degradation, and loss of biodiversity but also sustainable energy production, resource depletion, and waste disposal demand immediate action and governance. The management of these environmental challenges has already caused and will increasingly engender ethical concerns, dilemmas, and conflicts.

The Master’s program in Environmental Sciences and Humanities educates a new generation of environmental scientists with a special competence in environmental humanities and ethics for resolving governance challenges in the fields of the environment, sustainability and climate change. The unique competences acquired in this master are integrative and comprehensive knowledge on how to analyze environmental conflicts and to propose ethically sound solutions to environmental conflicts.

  • Profile of the study program

    The Master program in Environmental Sciences and Humanities educates generalists in environmental sciences with a special competence in environmental humanities and ethics. All modules consist of course units providing more general overviews or introductions to the fields of studies and allow for specializations in specific fields of environmental sciences and humanities. The program is based on an interfaculty and a humanistic approach. Within this highly interdisciplinary setting, students achieve key competences in all fields of environmental sciences ranging from biology, geosciences to environmental economics and law to a key focus on environmental humanities with a special emphasis on ethical decision-making in environmental practice.

  • Structure of classes and lectures

    The MSc study programme in Environmental Sciences and Humanities spans over two years (four terms), corresponding to a minimum of 120 ECTS credits.

    All course units of this program make true interdisciplinarity possible as they are followed in their faculties and departments of origin together with students from the respective fields. The program is divided into six modules and the master thesis:

    1. The key module, the specialty of this master program, consists of courses in the fields of the environmental humanities and in ethics. Examples are courses in environmental ethics, methods of ethical decision-making and courses in environmental history and political ecology (18 ECTS).
    2. The geosciences module deepens knowledge in methods and theory of earth sciences, human and physical geography (18 ECTS).
    3. The environmental biology module extends knowledge in ecology and biological evolution (18 ECTS).
    4. The sustainable economy module provides the necessary background in economic thinking in the context of sustainability (10,5 ECTS).
    5. The environmental law module focuses on public law at national, European and international levels (10 ECTS).
    6. The humanities and theology module extends humanist background to environmental challenges (6 ECTS).

    Finally, the master thesis is interdisciplinary, focusing on ethical or humanist aspects of environmental governance and practice (30 ECTS).

    A Supporting courses module, comprising elective courses from the modules above to achieve the necessary competences not acquired during Bachelor studies. The selection of the courses must be approved by the director of the programme. It comprises the necessary ECTS credits to reach the minimum total of 120 ECTS credits. 

    In conjunction with the courses from the humanities and theology module the environmental humanities module aims at building in-depth competences in humanist approaches to environmental challenges while a special focus lies on ethics and ethical decision-making. The other four modules provide the necessary generalist background to understand the basic scientific, economic and legal aspects of environmental issues to be governed today. Depending on their prerequisites, students follow more advanced or more basic courses. The master thesis allows a specialization on the ethical aspects of the chosen field of research.

  • Skills acquired and career opportunities

    Students of this Master program develop and strengthen their capacities of analytical thinking, precise reasoning and detecting the ethical implications of environmental practice. In addition, students acquire general scientific, economic and legal knowledge concerning environmental challenges of today and specialize in the context of their master thesis. Studying at the multi-lingual University of Fribourg allows students to gain language competences in French, German and English. However, most of the courses are taught in English.

    A Master in Environmental Sciences and Humanities qualifies for further research in the fields of environmental sciences and humanities, especially applied ethics and philosophy. Job opportunities include the fields of environmental administration and public institutions (local, national, regional, and international), urban and regional planning, environmental consulting, sustainable development, and NGOs with a focus on the environment.

  • Admission

    Master's degree programmes are built on the knowledge and abilities that were acquired when obtaining a Bachelor's degree.
    Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within the corresponding branch of studies (requires the acquisition of minimum 60 ECTS credits at Bachelor level in the corresponding discipline) without any additional requirements. The same applies to holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg.
    Holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university or holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded by a foreign university, provided that the Bachelor's degree is recognised and considered equivalent by the University of Fribourg, can be admitted to a Master's degree programme within another discipline with prerequisites (must be successfully completed before starting the Master's degree programme) or additional requirements (can be completed during the Master's degree programme). According to existing agreements, holders of a Bachelor's degree awarded from a Swiss university of applied sciences can also be admitted with prerequisites or additional requirements.
    The respective conditions of admission for each Master's degree programme are reserved

M.Sc. Environmental Sciences and Humanities

Der anthropogene Klimawandel, die Degradierung der Natur und der Verlust von Biodiversität, aber auch die nachhaltige Energieerzeugung, die Erschöpfung von nicht-erneuerbaren Ressourcen und die Abfallentsorgung erfordern sofortiges Handeln und eine verantwortungsvolle Governance. Die Bewältigung dieser ökologischen Herausforderungen hat bereits große ethische Bedenken, Dilemmata und Konflikte verursacht und welche sich in Zukunft noch verstärken werden.

Der Masterstudiengang Environmental Sciences and Humanities bildet eine neue Generation von Umweltwissenschaftlerinnen und Umweltwissenschaftlern aus. Zur Lösung von Governance-Herausforderungen in den Bereichen Umwelt, Nachhaltigkeit und Klimawandel verfügen diese über eine besondere Kompetenz in den Umweltgeisteswissenschaften und der Umweltethik. Die einzigartigen Kompetenzen, die dieser Masterstudiengang vermittelt, sind integrative und umfassende Kenntnisse, wie Umweltkonflikte analysiert und ethisch fundierte Lösungen für Umweltherausforderungen ermittelt werden können.

  • Profil des Studienprogramms

    Der Masterstudiengang Environmental Sciences and Humanities bildet Generalistinnen und Generalisten in den Umweltwissenschaften mit besonderen Kompetenzen in den Umweltgeisteswissenschaften und der Umweltethik aus. Alle Module bestehen aus Lehreinheiten, die allgemeine Übersichten oder Einführungen in die Studienfächer bieten und eine Spezialisierung in bestimmten umweltwissenschaftlichen und umweltgeisteswissenschaftlichen Bereichen ermöglichen. Der Studiengang basiert auf einem fakultätsübergreifenden und geisteswissenschaftlichen Ansatz. In diesem stark interdisziplinären Rahmen erwerben die Studierenden Schlüsselkompetenzen in allen Bereichen der Umweltwissenschaften, von der Biologie, den Geowissenschaften über die Umweltökonomie und das Umweltrecht bis hin zu einem Schwerpunkt in den Umweltgeisteswissenschaften mit besonderem Fokus auf ethische Entscheidungsfindung in der Umweltpraxis.

  • Struktur der Kurse und Seminare

    Der MSc-Studiengang Environmental Sciences and Humanities erstreckt sich über zwei Jahre (vier Semester), was einem Minimum von 120 ECTS-Credits entspricht.

    Alle Lehreinheiten des Programms ermöglichen echte Interdisziplinarität, da sie in den Fakultäten und an den Departementen ihres Ursprungs gemeinsam mit den Studierenden der jeweiligen Fachgebiete absolviert werden. Das Programm gliedert sich in sechs Module und die Masterarbeit:

    1. Das Kernmodul, die Spezialität dieses Masterstudiengangs, besteht aus Lehrveranstaltungen in den Bereichen der Umweltgeisteswissenschaften und der Ethik. Beispiele sind Kurse in Umweltethik, Methoden ethischer Entscheidungsfindung und Kurse zur Umweltgeschichte und politischer Ökologie (18 ECTS).
    2. Das Modul Geowissenschaften vertieft die Kenntnisse in Methoden und Theorie der Erdwissenschaften, der Humangeographie und der physischen Geographie (18 ECTS).
    3. Das Modul Umweltbiologie erweitert die Kenntnisse in Ökologie und biologischer Evolution (18 ECTS).
    4. Das Modul nachhaltige Ökonomie liefert den notwendigen Hintergrund für wirtschaftliches Denken im Kontext der Nachhaltigkeit (10,5 ECTS)
    5. Das Modul Umweltrecht konzentriert sich auf das öffentliche Recht auf nationaler, europäischer und internationaler Ebene (10 ECTS).
    6. Das geisteswissenschaftliche und theologische Modul erweitert den geisteswissenschaftlichen Hintergrund mit Blick auf ökologische Herausforderungen (6 ECTS).

    Die Masterarbeit ist interdisziplinär ausgerichtet und konzentriert sich auf ethische oder geisteswissenschaftliche Aspekte der Umweltpolitik und -praxis (30 ECTS).

    Zusätzlich beinhaltet der Master ein Modul aus unterstützenden Kursen, das Wahlveranstaltungen aus den oben genannten Modulen umfasst, um die notwendigen Kompetenzen zu erreichen, die nicht im Bachelor-Studium erworben wurden. Es umfasst die notwendigen ECTS-Credits, um die Mindestzahl von 120 ECTS-Credits zu erreichen.

    In Verbindung mit den Lehrveranstaltungen des geisteswissenschaftlichen und theologischen Moduls zielt das umweltgeisteswissenschaftliche Modul darauf ab, vertiefte Kompetenzen in der geisteswissenschaftlichen Herangehensweise an Umweltherausforderungen aufzubauen, wobei ein besonderer Schwerpunkt auf Ethik und ethischer Entscheidungsfindung liegt. Die anderen vier Module liefern den notwendigen Hintergrund, um die grundlegenden wissenschaftlichen, wirtschaftlichen und rechtlichen Aspekte der heute zu regelnden Umweltherausforderungen zu verstehen. Entsprechend ihren Vorkenntnissen besuchen die Studierenden weiterführende oder grundlegende Kurse. Die Masterarbeit ermöglicht eine Spezialisierung auf die ethischen Aspekte des gewählten Forschungsgebietes.

  • Erworbene Kompetenzen und Karrierechancen

    In diesem Masterprogramm entwickeln die Studierenden ihre Fähigkeiten zu analytischem Denken, präzisem Argumentieren und zum Erkennen der ethischen Implikationen der Umweltpraxis weiter. Darüber hinaus erwerben die Studierenden allgemeine naturwissenschaftliche, ökonomische und rechtliche Kompetenzen über die umweltpolitischen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit und spezialisieren sich im Rahmen ihrer Masterarbeit. Das Studium an der mehrsprachigen Universität Fribourg ermöglicht den Studierenden den Erwerb von Sprachkompetenzen in Deutsch, Englisch und Französisch. Die meisten Kurse werden auf Englisch unterrichtet.

    Der Master Environmental Sciences and Humanities qualifiziert für weiterführende Forschung in den Umweltwissenschaften und Umweltgeisteswissenschaften, insbesondere in der angewandten Ethik und Philosophie. Die Berufsmöglichkeiten umfassen die Bereiche der Umweltverwaltung und öffentliche Institutionen (lokal, national, regional und international), die Stadt- und Regionalplanung, die Umweltberatung, nachhaltige Entwicklung und NGOs mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Umweltfragen.

  • Zulassung

    Masterstudiengänge bauen auf den im Bachelorstudium erworbenen Kenntnissen und Fähigkeiten auf.
    Ohne zusätzliche Anforderungen zum Master zugelassen werden kann, wer über einen schweizerischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in der gleichen Studienrichtung (d.h. einen Bachelorabschluss mit mindestens 60 ECTS-Kreditpunkten in der Studienrichtung des angestrebten Masters) verfügt. Gleiches gilt für von der Universität Freiburg anerkannte und als gleichwertig eingestufte ausländische universitäre Bachelorabschlüsse.
    Mit Bedingungen (vor dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) oder Auflagen (während dem Masterstudium zu erfüllen) kann zum Master zugelassen werden, wer über einen schweizerischen oder einen von der Universität Freiburg anerkannten und als gleichwertig eingestuften ausländischen universitären Bachelorabschluss in einer anderen Studienrichtung verfügt. Gemäss geltenden Abkommen, kann mit Bedingungen oder Auflagen auch zugelassen werden, wer über einen Bachelorabschluss einer schweizerischen Fachhochschule verfügt. Die jeweiligen Zulassungsbedingungen der einzelnen Masterprogramme bleiben vorbehalten.