Bachelor of Science in Physics

Physics deals with the macroscopic and microscopic constituents of the world around us, as well as their interactions, in order to reduce complex natural phenomena to simple laws which can be expressed quantitatively. The principal objective of physics is gain a fundamental understanding of nature. However, many of its discoveries have resulted in technological applications, such as television, computers, telecommunications and new materials, as well as high-tech apparatus used in modern medicine, the Web, GPS and lasers.

The course offers an excellent grounding in physics (general physics and methodology) and helps students develop critical thinking, objectivity, creativity and sound reasoning:

  • Basic subject knowledge: physics, mathematics and practical work, with a choice of foundation courses and supporting programmes;
  • Advanced learning: quantum mechanics, mechanics and electrodynamics, modern optics, thermodynamics, laboratories and placements, mathematical methods.

Degree Conferred
Bachelor of Science in Physics
 

Language(s) of Study
French and German
 

Programme Structure
150 ECTS credits (major)
+30 ECTS credits (minor)
6 semesters full-time
 

Programme Start
September
 

Additional Information
RegulationsStudy PlansStudent Advisors

Enseignement au secondaire (DAES 1, DEEM)

  • Profile and Options

    This programme of study teaches general physics and physics' methodology and provides a broad view of the subject. By studying complex natural phenomena, their interactions and the laws which govern them, students of this subject are able to develop critical thinking and problem solving skills. 

    The study plan encompasses basic knowledge and more advanced topics, such as mathematical methods, quantum mechanics, electrodynamics, modern optics and thermodynamics. Students also have the possibility of working with top-level research groups from their third year onward.
    The physics course at the University of Fribourg offer great freedom in the choice of foundation courses and minor study programmes.

  • Academic and Professional Career Opportunities
    Learning Outcomes and Career Openings
    • Acquired skills: by the time you obtain your Bachelor's degree, you will have consolidated your basic scientific know-how and acquired general subject knowledge and a broader vision of physics. You will have developed your ability to synthesise information and a critical way of thinking, which will enable you to proceed to more advanced studies or to specialise in your chosen field;
    • Bilingualism: thanks to the bilingualism which is part and parcel of the course, you will enrich your specialist vocabulary in both languages and learn to dialogue in an academic context with specialists both in French and German.

    Physicists' skills are highly sought-after in the field of high-tech.
    A Bachelor's degree in Physics constitutes a sound basic qualification and opens the way to a variety of career options. For example, you can put your knowledge to good use in the field of patents or consulting, or undertake further studies leading to a Master's degree. With a Master in Physics, you will have access to various professional activities in research, teaching, industry, economics or administration.

  • The Fribourg advantage
  • Organisation and Admission
    Structure of studies

    150 ECTS credits + 30 ECTS credits in a minor study programme freely chosen, 6 semesters

     
    Admission

    The following Swiss school-leaving certificates grant admission to Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg:

    • Swiss academic Maturity Certificate
    • Swiss professional Maturity Certificate in conjunction with the supplementary exam certificate from the Swiss Maturity Commission
    • Bachelor Degree from a Swiss university, from an accredited Swiss university of applied sciences (HES/FH) or from a Swiss university of teacher education (HEP/PH)

    A complete list of all further recognized Swiss school-leaving certificates is to be found on the webpages of  swissuniversities (in german or french).

    Foreign upper secondary school-leaving certificates are recognised only if they correspond substantially to the Swiss Maturity Certificate. They must qualify as general education. Foreign school-leaving certificates are considered to be general education if the last three years of schooling include at least six general education subjects, independent from each other, in accordance with the following list:

    1. First language (native language)
    2. Second language
    3. Mathematics
    4. Natural sciences (biology, chemistry or physics)
    5. Humanities and social sciences (geography, history or economics/law)
    6. Elective (an additional language or an additional subject from category 4 or 5)

    The general admission requirements to the Bachelor programmes at the University of Fribourg for holders of foreign school-leaving certificates as well as the admission requirements for individual countries are to be found on the webpages of  swissuniversities.
    In addition, foreign candidates must present proof of sufficient language skills in French or German.

  • Choice of Minor Study Programmes
     Minors at the Faculty of Science and Medicine
    Study Programme ECTS
    Mathematics for Physicists 30
    Informatics 30
    Chemistry 30
    Earth Sciences 30
    Geography 30
    Biologie A 30
    Biochemistry

    30

    Neurosciences 30
    Environmental Sciences 30
    Sport Sciences and Motor Control  30
     

    List of available minor programmes

Bachelor of Science en physique

La physique traite des constituants macroscopiques et microscopiques du monde qui nous entoure ainsi que de leurs interactions, afin de réduire des phénomènes complexes de la nature à des lois simples qui peuvent être exprimées sous forme quantitative. L'objectif principal de la physique est la recherche fondamentale, et beaucoup de ses découvertes ont débouché sur des applications technologiques, pour ne citer que la télévision, les ordinateurs, les télécommunications, les nouveaux matériaux, sans oublier les appareils high-tech de la médecine moderne, le web, le GPS et le laser.

Les études offrent une excellente formation de base en physique (connaissances générales et méthodologie) et permettent de développer l'esprit critique, la manière de penser, l'objectivité, la créativité et la rigueur du raisonnement :

  • Base générale : physique, mathématiques et travaux pratiques, avec branches propédeutiques et programmes complémentaires au choix;
  • Approfondissement : mécanique quantique, mécanique et électrodynamique, optique moderne, thermodynamique, laboratoires et stages, méthodes mathématiques.

Titre conféré
Bachelor of Science en physique
 

Langue(s) d'études
Français et allemand
 

Structure des études
150 ECTS (branche principale)
+30 ECTS (br.complémentaire)
6 semestres à plein temps
 

Début des études
Septembre
 

Informations supplémentaires
RèglementsPlans d'étudesConseillères et conseillers aux étudesEnseignement au secondaire (DAES 1, DEEM)

  • Profil et options

    Ce programme d'études dispense une connaissance générale de la physique et de sa méthodologie, ainsi qu'une large vision de la discipline. Par l'étude des phénomènes complexes de la nature, de leurs interactions et des lois qui les régissent, cette filière permet de développer l'esprit critique, la créativité et la rigueur du raisonnement.

    Le plan d'études comprend une base générale et un approfondissement dans plusieurs domaines comme les méthodes mathématiques, la mécanique quantique, l'électrodynamique, l'optique moderne et la thermodynamique. Il donne aussi la possibilité d'intégrer, dès la troisième année d'études, des groupes de recherche de pointe.

    Les études de physique à l'Université de Fribourg offrent une grande liberté dans le choix des branches propédeutiques et des programmes d'études complémentaires.

  • Objectifs de formation et perspectives professionnelles
    Objectifs de formation et débouchés
    • Compétences acquises : avec l'obtention du Bachelor, vous aurez consolidé vos bases scientifiques, acquis une connaissance générale et une vision large de la physique. Vous aurez développé votre capacité de synthèse et votre pensée critique, ce qui vous permettra d'aborder des études approfondies ou une spécialisation dans votre domaine;
    • Bilinguisme : grâce à une formation bilingue intégrée, vous aurez enrichi votre vocabulaire spécifique dans deux langues et acquis la capacité de dialoguer, dans le contexte d'études, avec des spécialistes aussi bien en français qu'en allemand.

    Les compétences des physicien·ne·s sont très recherchées dans le domaine des hautes technologies.

    Un Bachelor en physique consiste en une solide formation de base et permet des orientations professionnelles variées. Vous pourrez par exemple déployer vos connaissances dans le domaine des brevets ou du consulting, ou alors entreprendre des études menant à l'obtention d'un Master. Avec un Master en physique, vous pourrez accéder à diverses formes d'activités professionnelles dans la recherche, l'enseignement, l'industrie, l'économie ou l'administration.

  • Les avantages de Fribourg
  • Organisation des études et admission
    Structure des études

    150 crédits ECTS + 30 crédits ECTS de branche complémentaire à choix, 6 semestres

    Admission

    Les diplômes suisses de fin d'études suivants permettent une admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg :

    • Certificat de maturité gymnasiale ou maturités gymnasiales cantonales reconnues par la Confédération
    • Certificat de maturité professionnelle ou spécialisée complété du certificat d'examen complémentaire de la Commission suisse de maturité (passerelle)
    • Diplôme de Bachelor d'une haute école universitaire, d'une haute école spécialisée reconnue (HES) ou d'une haute école pédagogique (HEP)

    La liste de tous les autres diplômes suisses reconnus peut être consultée sur le site web de swissuniversities

    Pour être reconnus, les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études doivent être équivalents, pour l'essentiel, à une maturité gymnasiale suisse; ils doivent être de formation générale. Un diplôme d'études secondaires supérieures est considéré de formation générale s'il porte sur six branches d'enseignement suivies en continu pendant les trois dernières années selon la liste suivante :

    1. Première langue (langue maternelle)
    2. Deuxième langue
    3. Mathématiques
    4. Sciences naturelles (biologie, chimie ou physique)
    5. Sciences humaines et sociales (géographie, histoire ou économie/droit)
    6. Branche à choix (soit une langue supplémentaire soit une branche parmi les branches 4 ou 5)

    Les exigences générales d'admission dans les voies d'études de Bachelor à l'Université de Fribourg pour les diplômes étrangers de fin d'études ainsi que les conditions d'admission spécifiques pour chaque pays peuvent être trouvées sur le site web de swissuniversities

    De plus, les candidat-e-s étranger-e-s doivent apporter la preuve de compétences linguistiques suffisantes en français ou en allemand.

  • Programmes d'études complémentaires au choix
     Branches complémentaires à la Faculté des sciences et de médecine
    Programme d'études ECTS
    Mathématiques pour physicien·ne·s 30
    Informatique 30
    Chimie 30
    Sciences de la terre 30
    Géographie 30
    Biologie A 30
    Biochimie

    30

    Sciences de l'environnement 30
    Sciences du sport et de la motricité  30
     

    Liste des programmes disponibles