Animal Welfare

 

Scientific research is linked in many areas with animal experimentation, especially where complex interactions in the whole organism are investigated and no animal-free methods are (yet) available. In the ethical treatment of laboratory animals, the 3R principle (reduce - refine - replace) is of particular importance at the University of Fribourg.

 

Each animal experiment requires a specific authorization issued by the cantonal veterinary office and, depending on the constraints on the animals, is examined beforehand by the cantonal commission for animal experimentation. In the same way, all laboratory animal husbandries must be reported to and approved by the cantonal authorities.

 

The Animal Welfare Officer is a veterinary professional (veterinarian) who is independent from biomedical research and reports directly to the Dean’s office at the Faculty of Science and Medicine and who promotes the 3R principle in all areas of laboratory animal science.

 

Animal Welfare Officer contact

 

Tasks of the animal welfare officer
  • Consultation and support of scientists
    • Planning and performing of animal experiments according to the 3R principle: examination of applications for the authorization of animal experiments before submission to the cantonal authorities (veterinary office); inclusion of the 3Rs in the planning and support for the implementation in the experiment
    • Support with the submission of applications and annual reports as well as the administration of authorizations
    • Implementation of current knowledge in laboratory animal science and veterinary medicine for optimal experimental conditions (anaesthesia, analgesia, surgeries, monitoring, humane endpoints etc.)
    • Coordination and collaboration between facilities.

     

  • Education and training of researchers and animal care staff
    • Verification of compliance with mandatory education and training concerning working with laboratory animals
    • Information to staff on courses offered
    • Organization of internal training
    • Coordination of education and training in collaboration with institutions providing courses (mainly Swiss Network on Education in Laboratory Animal Science and courses accredited by the Association of Swiss cantonal veterinarians VSK).

     

  • Internal controls
    • Compliance with legislation in animal facilities
    • Performing animal experiments according to the authorization
    • In this context, the Animal Welfare Officer is independent from the research groups and an expert contact for the cantonal veterinary office (Amt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen LSVW)

     

  • Other tasks
    • Veterinary care of laboratory animals
    • Interface function with the veterinary authorities in all areas of animal experimentation and animal facilities:

          LSVW (cantonal veterinary office Fribourg)

          FSVO (Federal Food Safety and Veterinary Office)

    • Information to the scientists about the deadlines for submitting applications for animal experimentation to the cantonal authorities
    • Forwarding of relevant information from institutions and authorities in Switzerland and abroad in the field of laboratory animal science (e.g. Swiss society for laboratory animal science SGV, Institute for laboratory animal science LTK, Réseau des animaleries lémaniques Résal, FSVO, etc.)
    • Collaborations, exchange of knowledge and information with the animal welfare officers from other institutions (universities, ETH, industry) in the Swiss AWO network and other related specialists in Switzerland and abroad
    • Collaboration with the SAFN (Swiss Animal Facility Network), 3RCC (Swiss Competence Center 3RCC) etc...

     

  • Useful links

Tierschutz

 

Die naturwissenschaftliche und medizinische Forschung ist in vielen Bereichen mit Tier­ver­suchen verbunden – vor allem, wo komplexe Inter­aktionen im Gesamt­orga­nismus untersucht werden und (noch) keine tierversuchsfreien Methoden verfügbar sind. Im Rahmen eines ethischen Umgangs mit Versuchstieren kommt dem 3R‐Prinzip (Reduce – Refine – Replace) an der Universität Freiburg eine wichtige Bedeutung zu.

 

Jeder Tierversuch benötigt eine Bewilligung vom kan­to­nalen Veterinäramt und wird, abhängig von der Belastung der Tiere, vor­gängig durch die Kommission für Tierversuche geprüft. Eben­so muss jede Versuchstierhaltung dem Kanton gemeldet und von den Behörden bewilligt werden.

 

Mit dem Tierschutz beauftragt ist eine von der bio­medi­zini­schen Forschung un­ab­häng­ige vete­rinär­medi­zinische Fach­person (Tierarzt / Tierärztin), welche an der Mathe­matisch-­Natur­wissen­schaft­lichen und Medi­zini­schen Fakultät direkt dem Dekanat unterstellt ist und das 3R-Prinzips in allen Be­reichen der Versuchstierkunde fördert.

 

Tierschutzbeauftragte/r

 

 

Aufgaben

 

  • Beratung und Unterstützung für WissenschaftlerInnen
    • Planung und Durchführung von Tierversuchen nach den Prinzipien der 3R: Prüfung der Anträge für die Bewilligung von Tierversuchen vor Eingabe bei den kantonalen Behör­den (Veterinäramt); Berücksichtigung der 3R in der Planung und Unterstützung bei der Umsetzung im Versuch;
    • Unterstützung bei der Eingabe der Gesuche und jährlichen Berichte sowie der Verwaltung der Bewilligungen;
    • Umsetzung der aktuellen Kenntnisse aus der Labortierkunde und Veterinärmedizin für optimale Versuchsbedingungen (Anästhesie, Analgesie, Chirurgie, Überwachung, Ab­bruchkriterien etc.);
    • In den Tierhaltungen mit den Leitenden der Versuchstierhaltungen und TierpflegerInnen: Umsetzung der Gesetzgebung, artgerechte Beschäftigung für Versuchstiere, Gesund­heitsüberwachung, Hygienemassnahmen, Import/Export etc.; Koordination und Zusammenarbeit zwischen den Tierhaltungen.

     

  • Aus- und Weiterbildung für Forschende und Tierpflegepersonal
    • Überprüfung der Einhaltung der obligatorischen Aus- und Weiterbildungen betreffend Arbeit mit Versuchstieren;
    • Informierung des Personals über angebotene Kurse;
    • Organisation von internen Weiterbildungen;
    • Koordination von Aus- und Weiterbildungen in Zusammenarbeit mit den anbietenden Instituten (v.a. Schweizer Netzwerk für Ausbildung in Versuchstierkunde und ak­kre­di­tierte Kurse durch die Vereinigung der Schweizer Kantons­tier­ärztinnen und Kantons­tier­ärzte VSK).

     

  • Interne Kontrollen
    • Einhaltung der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen in den Tierhaltungen;
    • Durchführung der Tierversuche gemäss Bewilligung;
    • In diesem Zusammenhang ist die mit dem Tierschutz beauftragte Person von den For­schungs­gruppen unabhängig und sachverständige Kontaktperson für das kantonale Veterinäramt (Amt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen LSVW).

     

  • Weitere Aufgaben
    • Veterinärmedizinische Versorgung der Versuchstiere;
    • Schnittstellenfunktion mit den Veterinärbehörden in allen Bereichen von Tierversuchen und Tier­haltungen:

             LSVW (Kantonales Veterinäramt Fribourg)

             BLV (Bundesamt für Lebensmittelsicherheit und Veterinärwesen)

    • Informierung der WissenschaftlerInnen über die Eingabefristen für Tier­versuchsanträge bei den kantonalen Behörden;
    • Weiterleitung von relevanten Informationen von Institutionen und Behörden im In- und Ausland im Bereich Ver­suchs­tier­kunde (z.B. Schweizer Gesellschaft für Versuchs­tier­kunde SGV, Institut für Labortierkunde LTK, Réseau des animaleries lémaniques Résal, BLV etc.);
    • Zusammenarbeit, Wissens- und Informationsaustausch mit den Tierschutzbeauftragten aus anderen Instituten (Universitäten, ETH, Industrie) im Schweizer AWO Netzwerk (AWO = Animal Welfare Officer) und anderen fachverwandten Spezialisten im In- und Ausland;
    • Zusammenarbeit mit dem SAFN (Swiss Animal Facility Network), 3RCC (Kompetenz­zentrum 3RCC) etc.

     

  • Links